Thursday 12 December, 2019         

Community Toilet Handover Programme At Bhaktapur

On 9th August 2015, finally BNMT was very delighted to handover the permanent community toilet formally to the Bhaktapur Municipality and User’s Committee in Maheshwori and Yonsikhel of Bhaktapur Municipality by the BNMT UK co-chairperson Dr. Gillian Holdsworth.

There was a presence of respective guests such as Mr. Krishna Govinda Khaiju (immediate ward chairperson of ward no.6 Bhaktapur Municipality), Mr. Uddav Prasad Rijal (Executive Officer of Bhaktapur Municipality), Mr. Rameshwor Koju (representative of Bhaktapur Municipality), Mr. Gautam Prasad Lasiwa (Tourism Officer of Bhaktapur Municipality). Besides that, Dr. Kulesh Bahadur Thapa (Country Representative of BNMT UK), Mr. Mahesh Sharma (Chairperson of BNMT Nepal), Ms. Shobhana Gurung Pradhan (Ex-Country Director of BNMT UK), Mr. Suman Charndra Gurung (Programme Director of BNMT Nepal) were also presented in the event.

In both locations, each toilet block comprises of four compartments where two each compartments are allocated for male and female users. User’s Committee will be responsible for the proper hygiene, maintenance and management of these toilets whereas the local authority, municipality/VDC will be responsible for regular monitoring and water supply. Letter of Appreciation was given to different personnel for their selfless outstanding contribution in building this community toilet within the two months of it's construction.

After the closing of User’s Community Toilet Handover Programme, BNMT team also distributed a tarpaulin and set of sanitary package to all 160 families taking shelter in the Maheswori area. During the programme Ms. Saki Thapa (Mental Health Coordinator, BNMT Nepal) demonstrated about the proper use and safe disposal of sanitary pads.

© Copyright 2019 BNMT Nepal | All Rights Reserved